

The Law Society of Hong Kong elected a new President

(21 May 2009 Hong Kong) - <u>Mr. Wong Kwai Huen</u>, a partner of Huen Wong & Co. was elected the new President of the Law Society of Hong Kong. He will lead the 20-member Council which is the governing body of the Law Society of Hong Kong. Mr. Junius HO and Mr. Dieter YIH were elected Vice Presidents.

The other members of the new Council of the Law Society of Hong Kong (in alphabetical order) are Mr. Brian Gilchrist, Mr. Lester HUANG, Mr. Stephen HUNG, Mr. Ip Shing Hing, Mr. Alex LAI, Mr. Ambrose LAM, Ms. Angela LEE, Mr. Joseph LI, Mr. Michael LINTERN-SMITH, Mr. Peter LO, Mr. Billy MA, Mr. Amirali NASIR, Mr. Kenneth NG, Ms. Melissa PANG, Ms. Sylvia SIU, Mr. Thomas SO and Ms. Cecilia WONG.

Prior to becoming the President, Mr. Wong has served in the Council of the Law Society of Hong Kong as a member for 9 years, out of which 5 years as Vice President.

Assuming his new position, Mr. Wong said: "One of the urgent items to tackle during my presidency will be to explore practical ways to assist our fellow practitioners, employers and employees alike, to sail through the tsunami. Tapping into the vast Mainland legal services market is one way of expanding the source of business for Hong Kong solicitors". Mr. Wong also pledged his effort to uphold the rule of law and the core values of the profession.





For further information, please contact: Ms. Valerie Cheung (Tel: 2846-0520/ Email: <u>Valerie@hklawsoc.org.hk</u>)

The Law Society of Hong Kong 21 May 2009